Action Against Hunger trucks drive through a desert in the Sahel region of West Africa.
Christophe Da Silva
Action Against Hunger, Chad

Board of Directors

Action Against Hunger’s Board of Directors set the organization’s strategic direction through a strong governance mechanism, including a fiduciary responsibility to protect assets to assure our growth and sustainability.

With our vision, mission, and values as their guide, our Directors:

  • Support our Chief Executive Officer and Executive Team to advance our work to end hunger.
  • Challenge and refine our approaches to align with our values and commitment to achieving zero hunger.
  • Identify opportunities and actively engage in resource mobilization to advance our mission.
  • Be active in or lead one or more Board committees to guide and provide recommendations to enhance our work.
  • Become our ambassadors and advocates.
  • Help achieve our annual fundraising goals.
  • Recruit, supervise, evaluate, and compensate the Chief Executive Officer.

Meet our Board of Directors

Raymond Debbane
Board Chairman
The Invus Group, LLC

Thilo Semmelbauer
Board Co-Chairman
Insight Venture Partners

Charles Owubah
Board Secretary – Chief Executive Officer
Action Against Hunger

Christophe Duthoit
Board Treasurer
Boston Consulting Group

Jean-Pierre Chesse
Bleu Capital LLC

Sylvain Desjonqueres
Groupe L’Occitane

Burton K. Haimes
Board Chairman Emeritus
Tannenbaum Helpern Syracuse & Hirschtritt

Ricardo Hernández

Yves-André Istel
Rothschild, Inc.

Shabrina Jiva

Anya Kuligina

Ketty Pucci-Sisti Maisonrouge
KM & Co. Inc.

Amy Schulman
Polaris Partners

Julia Sherbakov
Impact Journey

Aisha Haynie Smart
Memorial Hermann Hospital System

Leslie Grant Smith

Robert Spatt
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP

Karim Tabet
TAP Advisors LLC

Sandra Tamer

David Van Zandt

For more information about our Board of Directors, please reach out to Tim Staffa, Chief of Staff, at